Sunday, January 27, 2013

I hestitate to type this but...

...I've actually ridden three days in a row relatively pain free (on the bike that is).  1.5hrs Friday, 1.25hrs Sat, and 1.7hrs today; all good.  NOTE:  As I type this I am knocking on wood.  Still significant discomfort when off the bike, but I am riding.

Now the bad news:  HOLY CRUD I SUCK!  I recognize that I've been off the bike since early October and it will come back, but its been 20 years since I was this weak/off; this next couple of months are going to be character builders in humility when I comes to the city limit sign sprints!

It feels so freaking good to be outside spinning the legs and breathing deep.  Mental therapy for sure!

Heading out Thursday to L'ville to catch Worlds with Dale and Nate.  Hotels booked in Feb '12 and VIP tickets in hand.  Going to be a great trip.  

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Another Basketball Weekend...

...another tourney championship.  This weekend four wins at Osceola making our record so far 20-3.

 
 
Couple more weeks before I hop back on the bike and see how it goes.  Fingers crossed!

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

2013 - Repair,Regroup, and ...

So it's been 2 months since last post and honestly since this is mostly geared toward cycling there hasn't been anything to report other than trying to still to get my back in healthy condition and get back on the bike with some routine. 

The official diagnosis is Degenerative Disc Disease in my L4 and L5 (two of them) with both bulging. Not a death sentence but not something that doesn't repairs itself (the bulging actually can though).  The forward focus is getting the inflammation down to limit the pain of the nerve that is shooting the pain into my right buttocks (not down my leg - SI) and limits my movements from one position to another without significant pain.  The movement from a flexed (on the bike) position to a dismounted vertical (running) hurts like thunder and then it's pretty much a constant dull ache. 

Darn thing just isn't getting better and while I can ride (with limited efforts) I pay for it afterwards; I have gone from a couple weeks with no activity and nothing changed.  My days have been spent on a decompression 'rack', stretching like mad, lite yoga, doing a lite (1 hour max) ride here and there (stopping and stretching my back every 15 minutes), and lite running a couple days a week (which oddly enough feels good).  All this is doctor and PT directed so I'm not flying by the seat of my pants.

Yesterday (Dec 31st) I ended my year with a steroid shot in my spine to see if that will reduce the inflammation and make daily movement less annoying (this morning it actually feels significantly better, but I have yet to really move around).  The bike garage is locked until Feb 1st (sigh) and outside of some yoga, stretching, and lite running there isn't much more happening on the 'bike' side of things. 

I have mentally good days and then seems more 'no so good' days trying to keep things in perspective.  It's been three months since 'the morning of Gateway Cross' when it all started and I am ready for it to be behind me so I am embracing 2013 with positivity and hopefulness.

Not sure if 'cross is in my future, but definitely will hit the crit and road scene as soon as the back allows, but how knows, maybe 2013 Dogfish Hermann will find me back on the start line and hungrier than ever (that's my secret desire)!  Crazy missed it this year...

The silver lining it was the first late fall/early winter that I spent pretty much every weekend with the family and not driving all over creation to the next race; it has been super good especially with the little guy.

Speaking of the kiddo, he is laying up against me now watching Dumbo; snuggled like he's always been here and it's pretty natural now.  He's been with us since June 2011 and while we were hoping to have the adoption finalized by Christmas 2012 it looks like it will be in February 2013.  Not a big deal as it doesn't change our day to day, but it'll be healthy for all of us to have some finalization and it will hopefully add another brick to his feeling of security and stabilization.  We all love him so much and it was great having a little guy (he just turned 7 and still believes in Santa) in the house at Christmas time.  Ian and Jake had a ball watching the buildup and Christmas morning.

On to Christmas morning and it did Deb and I's hearts well that Ian wanted to ready the Bible Christmas story (Luke) to us (normally I do it) before opening presents.  Perspective in our house starts with Christ's birth and the gift of eternal life before diving into the packages.

Ian and his b-ball team is killing it this year as they are 15-1 (winning two tournaments so far).  Middle school is trying to make him grow up fast than what we want, but at some time it had to happen (ha!). 


Program Select Tourney Champs
Lockwood Magic Tourney Champs
 
Jake is knocking out semester after semester working on his biology degree and we are seeing less and less of him since a certain little cutie caught his eye (and heart I believe) at SBU and right now he's out in Salina, KS during the break.  He's still longboarding tons and, much like a cyclist, already has four boards (each do a particular thing unique to the others) and no signs of stopping.  He's transitioning from a kid to an adult and while it's weird it's also a ton of fun making a new friend. 

Pictures coming at a later time, but for now that's what's shaking in my world...


Oh, speaking of Worlds, can't waiting for L'ville next month.  Hotel booked long ago and a great road trip with friends is on the horizon.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Sometimes You Just Have to Laugh...

So time off the bike and rehab on a 'bad back' was a little tough mentally for me to deal with; very frustrated.  Then somewhere along the way of lite strength rehab I ended up with a lower hernia (this was 2 1/2 weeks on a Wednesday).  Saw my family doc on Thursday and Friday afternoon I was under the knife having surgery... seriously?!?!?!?  It was about at this point that I stopped being frustrated and started chuckling inwards a bit; 2012 'cross was not to be and I could be mad about it or move on; I finally chose move on.  I've always hated those who say 'just wait for next year', but I am now one of those who has to look for the future. 

So, the positive of this is my back rehab (with the additional rest) is actually going better than expected; still quite a ways to go but positive direction.  The other fantastic part is I am having a string of great weekends with Deb and the boys; alot of fun.  So to quote Bill Murray "...I've got that going for me, which is nice."

Jake's doing well in his Sophomore year at SBU, Ian is knee deep already into basketball season (undefeated thus far), and the little man is doing great at school and starts 7Under basketball soon.  His adoption process is going along and might not be too much further (but who knows, it's a bunch of red tape with dealing with government groups). 

World Cup and the rest of the 'cross series in Europe have been great with the past weekend in the sand some of the best I've seen in years.  Always impresses me the patience of Nys early on, never shaken when sitting 10-12 deep after a couple laps.  Finding it interesting the Euro pro's are still hanging off the disc brake thing and a recent read sounds like they are just waiting for a better system but looking forward to it.

We'll, that's where I am at for now and coming to grips with it.  God is good and takes care of his children and I only have to trust it's in his hands. 

Friday, October 5, 2012

MIA

It's been a week and a half since I woke up with a lower back locked up; it's not getting better.  While some of the pain/discomfort has subsided I am not seeing enough improvement to give me hope for being back to racing anytime soon.

What historically was 'fixed' immediately for some reason is not happening this time after numerous sessions with my chiro.  Not sure if I am ready to abandon this and seek a new approach, but getting closer.

Feels pretty decent when I am in the saddle, but have little mobility dismounted/moving off the bike and for what was a strength for me in 'cross is now my Achilles heal.  So, for now, racing is not even a thought for me.  We'll see where this goes...

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

USGP Madison and then...

First time in Madison and it was a blast.  Dale and I headed up to meet the rest of the MWI crew for USGP #1 and #2 on an awesome fun course that offered a little bit of everything.  Pre-ride Friday afternoon went well and catching up with the Wisco boys was great.
 
As usual the MWI compound setup/support was A+.  Everyone pitches in and makes sure everyone has support and is race ready; then afterwards is the constant heckling and jokes that make it super fun.  Pretty cool watching Mike wrenching and supporting the Rapha Focus squad; living the life!
 
 
Saturday morning woke to a little shock to the system as it was 32* and damp (rained pretty hard over night).  By the time of my 45+ race the course was pretty dry and ripping fast.  Lined up 4th row start against a crazy fast group of old(ish) folks and had a sorry start (missed a pedal and then mentally checked out on the opening stretch settling in).  Never really felt sharp during the race and had a hard time catching a deep breath; finished 17th. 
 
Dale raced well in the 55+ and finished 10th - solid.
 
Kicked back the rest of the day watching various races.  Nutty how easy the pro's make the course look.
 
Sunday morning was a tad warmer and the course was pretty similar with a couple slight changes (making it a bit faster I thought).  3rd row start and much quicker off the line with a little aggression.  Moving thru the field pretty good and feeling great I was nearing top 10 when I wiped out twice in one lap in some loose dirt corners immediately dropping tons of spots.  Fought the rest of the race and continued to feel sharp, but only netting 18th.  Disappointing with the placing but encouraged by the sensations.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Dale had another solid day and nabbed another 10th. 
 
Skipping the race viewing we jumped in the car heading south for home.  Great weekend and really looking forward to L'ville.

Couple days rest then it was off to Gateway Cross in STL on Wednesday morning, but... everything changed in a blink of an eye (or crack of the back).  Woke up unable to stand straight as there was a sharp catch pain in my lower back.  I have a history of this hitting me a couple times a year and typically I go straight to my chiro and later that day I am 100% good to go.  The problem that morning was we had to leave early (before he was open) and I went up anyway hoping it was loosen up and I'd be able to race.  So off I go with Nate, Ira, and Dale to STL.

Got to a sloppy wet course and after a couple laps warming up and unable to move dismounted I called it a day and became a spectator.  Super bummed as I was feeling sharp leading into this and hated to watch my rivals duking it out and not participating.

Not a huge deal, get back to Bolivar, see my chiro and get ready for Boss Cross on the weekend; good plan...  Thursday session with Dr. Tweedy loosened things up (but it was the worst he had seen me and wasn't positive about the weekend), but by evening time I was locked back up.  Friday he wasn't available so I decided to rest/relax for the weekend staying home and regroup.  That was a hard thing to do as Boss Cross is such a great series and I love the EH Young park courses.  Oh well, what can you do?

Monday morning session with the chiro has me feeling pretty decent (not great) and was actually able to take a decent spin yesterday and snag a run this AM getting in some stadium/bleacher work.  By the time I got back home the back as seizing up again so another chiro session this afternoon is in order.  My hopes, fingers crossed, is to keep making progress and be able to participate in the 360 Cup races this weekend in Lawrence, KS; that is my hopes, but reality may say otherwise. 

This is jacking with me more mentally than probably physcially as I started the season as fit as I've ever been early on and now it seems so far away.  I know I'm not a joy to be around at home and am trying hard to keep it together, but I not doing a good job at that right now (and that frustrates me more than the racing aspect of it).  Got to get a grip on myself soon



Monday, September 17, 2012

... and we're back! '12 Cross Begins

Just like that I'm back in the saddle (literally) racing 'cross and smiling ear to ear.  Spring and summer went well, training felt pretty solid, weight is 8lbs below this time last year, new bike, but until you toe the line and get one (or two race) races under the belt it's hard to know if everything is working.

Received my new ride for the season on Wednesday; went with the Blue SL as I am a firm believer in if it ain't broke don't fix it.  This means I have loved every aspect of my 2009 Blue Norcross that I stuck with the same exact geometry and excellent product, but upp'ed it to the SL with Sram Force.  I simply love the feel and support I get from SRAM so was really glad Blue had that option.  Want to thank Britton at Volker Bicycles in KC for working with me and Blue to make this happen - I am a fan! Bummed I cannot support their Manions Cross races this weekend, but heading to USGP Madison instead.

This past weekend is the Missouri kickoff weekend race(s) for 'cross at Hermann with Jeff Yielding's Dogfish Hermann Cross.  It's always been a quality event and a good test to see how the fitness and mostly your bike driving skills progressed (as he likes a 'turny' kind of course). 

Ira, Nate, and I loaded up the 'race machine' and headed out Saturday mid-day.  We met up with Dale, Ryan, and TJ at the venue and settled in the afternoon.

So good to see familiar faces and chat with friends I hadn't seen in a while.  For the most part 'cross folks are so nice and fun (for the most part).

Nate, Dale, TJ, and Ryan were up first in the Cat 4 race and all looked pretty solid.  Was fun watching Nate 'experience' his first taste of 'cross race participation. 

I was up next in the Masters 45+ event and after a good prep and warm up it was time to toe the line.  Quality field had me concerned how it would turn out, but quickly any bits of doubt were gone as I felt really comfortable and in control during the race.  Had two mechanicals and one spill (driver error - me), but each time was calmly able to rejoin the front of the group relatively quick.  Typical Yielding course layout and after some swapping of paint in the end I was fortunate enough to have good legs in a two-up sprint to take the win (by a tires width).  Good racing for the front 3-4 of us.

Ira was up next in the Cat 3 field and after setting 2nd he double flatted (grabbed my pit bike) and finished 7th or 8th.  Bummer as he looked pretty good early on.

Although pre-registered, I skipped the Open race in lue of hoping to finish well the following day and hold on to the points leader's jersey.

Uneventful night at the Hermann Motel and Sunday morning the legs were talking to me... sigh, it was going to take a bit to loosen up.

While Dale and Ryan headed by home the night before, it was Nate and TJ lining up in the 4's.  Both rode really well and TJ ended up with the win.

They just kept going up...
Spung the legs out pretty well and before you know it I was on the line trying to defend the Source Endurance points lead.  Sunday's course was pretty much the same as Saturday with the notable addition of the 'going to the top of the stairs' - this was brutal and with the exception of Mt. Krumpit at Jingle Cross the hardest dismounted climb probably I've done in a 'cross race.  Most folks were not looking forward to this, but I typically do well the more time off the bike during races so I thought this was too my advantage.  The race went pretty close to the day before with five of us off the front keeping a decent pace (for the most part).  As the race progressed with each time up the stairs I felt more and more confident that I was in a good position to contend for the win.  On the last lap I upped the pace leading to the stairs (to ensure I had a clear path up) and by the top I had opened a significant lead and was able to keep the pressure on and gather my second win (and the points win for the weekend).  Also took the 'stair primes' both days racking up a little more swag to take home.

Crusty made it over the Sunday and he and Ira raced next in the 3's.  Ira washed out in the first lap rendering his bike unridable; frustrating weekend for him.  Crusty rode well and finished mid-pack.

With slightly frazzled legs I jumped in the Open race for a 30 minute bit of intensity and that's exactly what I got.  Pulled of after five or six laps (was 6th at the time) as my body was starting to fatigue and little errors were creeping up; didn't want to dump during the 'bonus' racing so packed it up and headed home.

Great two days with friends and racing.  Up next Dale and I are heading to Madison, WI for the USGP opener. 


Game Face

Think there were four dismounts per lap


Day 1 Podium
Day 2 Podium (and overall)