Monday, August 31, 2009

Katy Trail

Never been to the Katy Trail (big brother of the Frisco) so when some friends asked if Deb and I wanted to go for a 50 mile stroll it was hard to it pass up. It was the end of my rest/recovery week and the timing couldn't have been better... in more ways than one. Deb was a little anxious as she had no ridden (even on the tandem) longer than 2:15hrs and I reassured her that she would make it easily even though we would be in the saddle for close to 4 hrs.

7:45am Sunday we loaded up with the Kemps and pointed their rig north. We met Lou and Shelly and Bruce and Vickie Morgan (Marla's sister and brother-in-law and blog virgins) at Hartsburg; the starting (and return) point for today's journey. The temps were in the low 60's at the start and turns out a better day weather wise could have been had. No one was in a hurry so everyone settled into a good rhythm that would guarantee everyone's completion.



The Katy is super maintained (compared to the FT) and has enough scenery going on to kill the potential boredom of the super flat and straight trail. Deb and I started goofing around with Lou and Wes and working on city (ok, city is a overkill - township is better description), county, creek crossing signs and I think the Jones crew took ended up 1 or 2 ahead of Lou (but who's counting... right Lou?). We made our way to Rocheport (25 miles) and the Harris' had already scouted out a great winery/restaurant (Les Bourgeois) on a scenic overlook just outside (and up a pretty steep climb) of town. Great pick for eats (and overlook).


When we mounted back up for the return trip the temps had dropped and I actually got chilly a couple times on the cruise back (IS IT REALLY STILL AUGUST?!?!?!). We took a handful of breaks on the way back to give some of the folks a 'rump rest'.
Funny thing during the return when a guy rolled up (from behind) and started up a little chat. During this he let us know that one of the best Thai in the US (yes, he said the US) is just ahead at the marina and that folks from New York come just to eat there. He went on his way and we all tried to remember passing a restaurant at a marina, but not too far up the trail we passed Cooper's Landing marina/restaurant. From the looks of it (redneck trailer park/campground scene from an episode of Cops) there is no way I am putting it on my 'must eat at' list.
After a little over 4hrs (total) we concluded our ride. It was fun to see Deb proud to have ridden 52 miles; she did great and we had a fun time with the group. On the way back we knocked out some Andy's (a good topper of the day).
Jake watched Ian the entire day while we were gone and looked like both were glad (more like relieved) to have us back. Ian and I caught up on some baseball scores and Jake scooted out for a run in the cool air. Jake does a great job taking care of his little bro and that makes leaving them together for an extended time easier.
Deb and I are looking to come back in the fall (during the turn of the leaves) mid-week for some more of the Katy.

Saturday, August 29, 2009

A Day Just For My Girl

Recovery/rest week or not yesterday I had no intention of spending time with my Friday morning mistress as it was Deb's 40th birthday and there were plans to finalize (keep reading...) and fun to be had.

We started off the day with the boys giving her gifts (and lots of love) then dropping Ian off at school and then hitting a local diner for breakfast. Later it was lunch with my mom and dad and then while she was at work I was running a handful of errands to get the final touches on a surprise party for Deb later that evening. She and I closed up shop at 5pm and headed home. She had referenced not wanting to do much in the evening and I convinced her to go to dinner with me at a local Mexican dive. While we were away Jake, Ian, and Riley (Jake's good friend) were busy at the casa... more later.



We showed up and come to her amazement there was a reserved room with 20 of our close friends (to include her sister from STL). We had a fun time and after 1 1/2 hrs we all parted ways (or did we...). Deb was super happy with the surprise and we took our time heading back to the casa. We pulled up to the house and what do you know, the same group from the restaurant was there and surprise party #2 was on. We cracked open a couple bottles of the bubbly, had cake, and played some games... oh yeah, I took Sinatra's New York New York, changed up the words to reference Deb getting old, and sang it to her (video is definitely coming). It turned out much better than I was hoping as she had a great time and wore her beautiful smile all night long.



Deb, Mandee (her sister), and I stayed up to nearly 2am talking and laughing. Deb always loves her time with her sis.

It's Saturday morning now and we all slept late (thank goodness). I am watching the JV Tour (Vuelta) TT, Deb is playing some catch Ian, and Jake is doing his regular 'sleep-til-noon' Saturday. I plan to head out for 2hrs on the road at noon and Deb is doing a 'girls night out' with some friends in SPR.
Tomorrow Deb and I are joining two other couples and riding 50 mile (super easy) on the Katy Trail (from Jeff City to ????). Deb is nervous as she has never ridden that far and I keep reminding her that we are sharing a bike so I'll take care of her. Should be fun and a great capper to an easy recovery week. Monday the pain starts again.

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Routine Thursday

Thursday morning 'cross practice with Ira was solid. Keeping the HR low(er) this week so we worked a ton of turns, dismounts, and (subsequently) remounts. This rest week is making my skin crawl as I want to tune it up, but I will hopefully get the benefits for the next two weeks of trashing myself. Got in a solid 1 1/2hrs of basketball (great compensation for 'cross running) and continued to keep the effort level to a minimum. Felt yesterday's strength lifting followed immediately by 10 x 75m hill running repeats (still keeping the effort level low(er).

Got a little rain this evening so we skipped the outside games and Ian took me in OT in Madden '08. I am 6 and 0 against the little rugrat, but I did figure out the Colts are way more potent than Arizona (he always plays the Cowboys).

Tomorrow is Deb's 40th B-Day and I plan to start her off with a big breakfast at a local diner then who knows the rest of the day... Hard to believe she is THAT OLD... cause she looks soooo fine.

Speaking of feeling a little bit older... Deb wrote a check today for Jake's first college credits (dual credit through the high school/SBU); kind of weird.

The Mole still lives and I continue to pursue. I got one neighbor swearing my bleach poured in their runs and another wanting me to use moth balls... it's all voodoo and suspect it will come down to a good old fashioned knife fight.

Jake continues to look and sound confident about the upcoming XC season. Coach Bandy let me know that J crushed a big Fartlek workout today and is looking much better and stronger than last year. More importantly he commented on his leadership and how it has exceeded his expectations. That's why I'm a huge fan of his; it is every bit as important to develop these athletes into great individuals away from the sport. It's 9 days before his first meet (SWCCA @ East Newton) and truly I can't decide which is making me more anxious - Jake's season kicking off, my new 'cross ride/uni's, or 'cross racing start...

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

CIA EMPLOYEES???

Why is it that every 'cross racer has a secret training place or plan?!?!?!? Let me guess you found a run-up no one else knows about, a corner of the park with a hidden sand volleyball pit, or maybe starting power intervals repeats (maybe too early for the 'impact players' I guess, but you get the gist)... hmmmm, why didn't the rest of the 'cross nation think of that. It got me to thinking that maybe Mr. Roboto was a cyclocross'er with his 'parts made in Japan'...

Anyway, nothing out of routine at the ranch yesterday and nothing of significance for this afternoon (uneventful is nice and relaxing most of the time). E-ball and I did catch the Little League World Series game last night between Cali and San Antonio (which SA won); he has watched the LL playoffs every night just like is was the Bigs.

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Wake Up Call

So there I am snoozing away when the phone rings at 5am; not really a big deal as I usually get up at 5:15 on Tues and Thurs. Immediately I know it is either Dale or Ira letting me know they aren't making 'cross this morning, but Deb shoots up and says "that's not good" and so I am thinking to myself 'wow, how thoughtful that she doesn't want me to train alone' then it hits me... Jake is on his way to XC practice and I perk up. Sure enough it's Jake and he is outside of town on his way to pick up a teammate en route to the high school. He let's me know his truck is dead and won't move, he tells me his location, and off I am into the dark to play 'dad'. Get there and sure enough there is absolutely no clutch and it wasn't even engaging the transmission. We lock it up and head toward home (too late to make the team run) where he hops out and takes off on his own to get in his morning run time. It is quite impressive that this is my 16yr old and not once has he griped or talked negative about the time commitment (or of it's earliness).

So with that out of the way I head on out to the garage, mount the Orbea, and head off to meet the guys. Turns out there are no guys; solo'in it. This is a recovery week so it was really not a big deal and turns out I got in two 28min efforts keeping my HR in the 140s and concentrating on technique (dismount, remount, cornering...). I struggle with recovery/active rest periods as I think I am missing out if I don't ratchet it up, but I am constantly reminding myself that it must be done.

Jim and I got the Rodeo dropped off at a mechanic and waiting to hear the damage... Jake is back in the Durango and I am pedaling to and from work (a whopping 1 mile each way).

Last night was solid as we played a ton with Ian (basketball, croquet, baseball catch...) and I got most of the patio furniture finished (one more piece to go). Goofed with Jake some (including two beat downs I gave him on the chess board) and finished off the evening with some homemade ice cream (some from the Kemps and some from Nate's crew).

Lawn maintenance this afternoon and a light run and weight workout.

For some unknown reason I am not receiving text messages (go ahead and make your Deliverance comments Crusty); I can send (and folks are receiving), but just not coming to my Curve. Not sure how long this was gone on...


The Mole continues to be The Mole and I continue to not catch The Mole; not giving up just backing off the effort as I am resigned to the 'sheer luck' principle.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Varmint-Kong

That is a term I have adopted after a buddy sent me THIS (insert Mole where Gopher is heard) Deb thinks I am only a fraction of brain cells away from living this out as it has become an obsession.

Sunday morning at 5:50am I report to my post and wait... and wait... and wait... 10:15am and I have to break camp for church. Get back home at 12:30pm and still not a single movement. My bro and I knock out 2hrs on the Frisco and when we return there is a new mole run TWO FEET FROM WHERE I SAT ALL MORNING!!!! He is just jacking with me now; well played my fury foe, well played. Check periodically the rest of the day and get no additional activity.

6:15am Monday morning and there is one small mound already up when I check in for duty. 8:05am I leave for work and not a single thing.

For the past two weeks The Mole has made numerous runs in the same area between 5:30am (when I leave out to ride) and 7:00am (when I return) and additional runs up to 8am (when I leave for work). 14 DAYS IN A ROW and the one weekend I commit to hunt this SOM I get sqawduche! This is not over, not by a long shot...
OK, enough of that and a quick continued weekend recap: Saturday evening the house was packed as Ian's twin stayed the night and Jake brought Gibbles home after being out with his crew and he crashed for the evening. Sunday morning church and grilled pizza's for lunch (always a house favorite). Jim and I cruised the FT for two hours and had a good ride (seems it goes better when the rubber side is down). Sanded down and repainted the patio furniture and am working on a new top for the table (after the glass one was smashed against the house during a storm a couple months ago); going with a tile finish. Ian (who spent the last 20hrs with Payton) decided to continue the party and went over to his house for the afternoon, which gave Deb some 'alone' time to unwind. Later Wes, Marla, Dale, Mary, Deb and I enjoyed a 1:40hr ride around suburbia Bolivar. Ian and I finished up the evening with some catch while Jake snuck in some extra running mileage in the cool of the evening. The boys were all down and Deb and I were heading to bed, but got sucked into a M*A*S*H marathon (we love that show)...
Taking a well deserved active recovery week on the fitness scene as I have drilled it for the past two weeks and my body is letting me know. Still riding and strength workouts as regular, but cutting it in about half. This cycle (two heavy one recovery) seems to work pretty good for me (at my older age and all - Crusty). Just a quick reminder: Jingle Cross registration opens Sept 1; trying to work it out, but may by road tripping to Wisconsin that weekend with Jake and Coach Bandy to the Footlocker Regional Qualifier XC race (same one he went to last year).

Saturday, August 22, 2009

...And He Lives Another Day

Dale and I headed out on an early AM rode ride in what felt like a late September early October morning; long sleeve jersey (light weight) was worn. 2:30hrs of solid pace and four city limit sprints (Dale cleaned my clock 3-1).

Got home, saw THE MOLE had made a short cruise in the 'field of operation', and set up camp. I was out there 4hrs and saw him move once for a split second then he was gone for the rest of the day. That lucky SOM (son of a mole - my mom reads this so I had to it clean up) lived another day. I am setting the alarm for 5am and have no doubt he is going down. Deb speculated he might be a blog reader and knew I was coming after him... HMMMM.

Deb got in a great solo 1:30hr ride.

Ian has a buddy spending the night and Jake is out with his crew for the evening.